Tabulas.com
Login | Register
  • home
  • about
  • archives
  • links
  • gallery
  • design
  • music
  • video
  • photo
  • A Whiff of Lemongrass
  • Adri
  • Ah Ok Lah
  • Antares
  • Ben
  • Bernice Chauly
  • chaka chaka
  • Dabido
  • Demented Kat
  • Edrei
  • Erna
  • fiona
  • Fireangel :)
  • I so rule
  • Jerng
  • Jonno
  • Josie
  • Juria
  • Justine
  • Kakiseni
  • KataGender
  • Keem
  • Kenny
  • Kevin
  • Kimberlycun
  • Kinkybluefairy
  • Lis
  • Lithiumed!
  • Liy
  • Lola
  • Lola 2
  • Luxeandco
  • Meesh
  • minou degrassi
  • Nicholas
  • Nur Ling
  • ParadoXx
  • pelukis melukis
  • Petaling Street (Ping!)
  • PinkPau
  • Podcast: Bands Under the Radar
  • Potshots
  • Puisi Poesy
  • Rach
  • Reza
  • Ricecooker - apa cerit?
  • Sarah
  • Sharanya Manivannan
  • Sharon
  • Shoot
  • Suanie
  • Superfishballs
  • The Malay Male
  • Tilted World
  • Tongue in Chic
  • When Fangirls Attack!
  • Xes
  • Zheng

Malaysia New Straits Times virus...Fuck.



Written by lainie at 10:19 PM on September 2, 2005 in Links / Email.

[ Entire blog post narrated in extremely grumpy tones, as befits someone who's pmsing, stuck at home, and has had to restart her computer too many times in one hour ]

Virus warning.

Nessa googled Milo slogan Malaysia, clicked on the first website listed and ended up at a page in The New Straits Times Press (Malaysia) Berhad website.

"Yusof 'boleh' - the Malaysian slogan" [ READ VIRUS WARNING FIRST: link - click at own virus-hunting discretion, this is where it's located. ]

I checked out the site too. Upon entering it, and viewing the source, saw a whole load of gibberish at the end of the html page. Nessa got a virus notification - I didn't. I didn't think much else of it, since I'm running a firewall, adblockerS, Norton auto-protect (with full updates).

Then I decided to scan my computer.

And found THIS: C:Documents and SettingsLainieApplication DataMozillaFirefoxProfilesdefault.4mjCache435302ACd01 is infected with the VBS.Redlof.A virus

Same as Nessa's, location and time we got the virus. Conclusion? Yes, thank you New Straits Times for giving both Nessa and I the lovely Redlof.A virus.

I went to their website to try and find contact info for admin / tech team, but got a phone / fax number. Assholes. Big website, no email?? Or you people try and find contact info over there, I am not feeling patient enough.

Anyhow, whoever can contact the team over there...Please do. I know some of you buggers out there are reporters.

13 comments

Related Entries

  • Ad muncher / Cafe / Drama March 31, 2005
  • Oh no... August 1, 2005
  • Hello. January 2, 2007
  • NYKL January 22, 2007
Login to your account to post comment

You are not logged into your Tabulas account. Please click here to login.

Post comment as a guest

Your name:

Your email: (will not be posted publicly)

Your website:



Ghoul (guest)

Comment posted on September 3rd, 2005 at 03:27 PM
an email has been sent to the systems folk. hopefully the problem will be remedied come monday.
Reply to this comment

Azmeen (guest)

Comment posted on September 3rd, 2005 at 09:35 AM
I blogged about this at
<a href="http://www.heritage-tech.net/131/nst-server-infected-by-htmlredlofa-virus/" rel="nofollow">http://www.heritage-tech.net/131/nst-server-infected-by-htmlredlofa-virus/</a>

I've also emailed Brenda Marshall, the Senior Manager, email addy obtained from here:
<a href="http://adtimes.nstp.com.my/con_us/Customer.htm" rel="nofollow">http://adtimes.nstp.com.my/con_us/Customer.htm</a>

How's that for being a responsible netizen :D
Reply to this comment

Viceice (guest)

Comment posted on September 3rd, 2005 at 01:10 AM
Then again which big organization actually answers it's e-mails?
Reply to this comment

Mick Q (guest)

Comment posted on September 3rd, 2005 at 06:08 AM
All pages under <a href="http://adtimes.nstp.com.my/archive/2002" rel="nofollow">http://adtimes.nstp.com.my/archive/2002</a> are infected. 2001 and 2003 are ok.

With the proper publicity they will answer.
Send an e-mail to <a href="http://www.jeffooi.com" rel="nofollow">www.jeffooi.com</a>
Reply to this comment

irene (guest)

Comment posted on September 3rd, 2005 at 12:12 AM
Contact info was right at the bottom of the page ;) Have emailed. Remains to be seen whether they actually check their email & read the message.
Reply to this comment

lainie

Comment posted on September 3rd, 2005 at 12:23 AM
damn...WHERE? I can see the contact page, but not the email address
Reply to this comment

irene (guest)

Comment posted on September 3rd, 2005 at 01:06 AM
On NST's homepage (coz that's where I started looking), there's a blue footer at the bottom of the page... it says "Mail webheads for site related feedback and questions. Write to the editor or get sales for other kind of help." Stategic words are links with email addresses embedded in 'em ;)
Reply to this comment

lainie

Comment posted on September 3rd, 2005 at 11:24 AM
What a nice, subtle way to say "please don't email us"
Reply to this comment

tomK (guest)

Comment posted on September 4th, 2005 at 12:37 PM
Quote:
Comment posted on September 3rd, 2005 at 11:24 AM in reply to irene
What a nice, subtle way to say "please don't email us"

How does webmasters suppose to set up "mailto" links if not tag them in the sentence of quote? Use graphics? Geez!
Reply to this comment

lainie

Comment posted on September 4th, 2005 at 04:35 PM
How about something as simple as TYPING IT OUT? Not all people like to use the mailto: link (geez!). All they need to add under the telephone number in their CONTACT PAGE is "email address: soandso@nstp.com.my"

And if you'd bothered to check the site, you'll see nstp itself does NOT have the email link, just the individual newspaper webpages.
Reply to this comment

lainie

Comment posted on September 3rd, 2005 at 08:43 PM
First suggestion, an email address in the nstp site?
Reply to this comment

Mick Q (guest)

Comment posted on September 2nd, 2005 at 10:47 PM
Firefox does not support VBScript (the sources of viruses), so the script was never executed.

Your antivirus simply identified the text of the virus in an HTML page and notified you. No harm done.
Reply to this comment

lainie

Comment posted on September 2nd, 2005 at 11:06 PM
Ahh, bless be Firefox then. I was so annoyed when I found out about it though
Reply to this comment
  • ^ Back Top.
  • I'd prefer you didn't, but if you do steal this design I can't stop you, so all the best in creating your own one day.
  • Site powered by Tabulas.
  • and a site meter I never use: